Incidents with Rules

Holes Made By Birds
What happens if your ball comes to rest in a hole made by a crow, on the green or elsewhere?
Rules book definition :  “An abnormal condition is any casual water, ground under repair or hole, cast or runway on the course made by a burrowing animal, reptile or bird“.
Procedure (Rule 25-1)  ;  ” a)  through the green the player must lift the ball and drop it within one club length of the nearest point of relief, b) on the green, lift and place at the nearest point of relief”

Conceding a Putt in Matchplay
A player concedes a putt and rolls or knocks the ball back to his opponent.  The opponent claims the hole under Rule 16-1/d :  ‘You must not test the surface of a green by rolling a ball’.  Was he right?
No. According to an R & A Decision, if this was a casual action not deliberately testing the surface then it wasn’t a breach of the rule.  Response to opponent : You were wrong you a**ehole.

Wrong Ball Played in Bunker
Be aware that the rule has now changed and playing the wrong ball in a bunker incurs a penalty. In fact 2 shots in Medal or loss of hole in Matchplay.

Ball Moved or Taken By Dog
If a dog, walker, red kite or whatever moves your ball or carries it off Rule 18-1 says that

if a ball is moved by an outside agency (anyone or anything that isn’t involved in your round, caddies excluded), the ball must be replaced at the spot where it was moved, without penalty. If the ball can’t be found, but you know it was taken by an outside agency, you must put a different one in play.

How Far Back Can You Go On Tee?
A player is allowed to tee off up to 2 club lengths back from the line between the Tee markers but is not allowed to tee off outside the markers. However a player can stand outside the markers but the ball must be inside them.

At the weekend we saw two players go back between 10 and 15 feet on the 10th tee. In match play the second person to play could have asked the first one to replay his shot if he’d noticed he was too far back. In stroke play it would have been a 2 shot penalty for each of them.

Dropping – One Club Length or Two?
When you take free relief under the Rules, e.g. from an immovable obstruction, casual water, GUR, wrong putting green, or a staked tee (when there is a Local Rule), you must drop within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, not nearer the hole.

When you are taking a penalty drop, e.g. from a lie you deem unplayable, or a lateral water hazard, then you are permitted to drop anywhere within two club-lengths of where the ball lay for an unplayable lie, or from where the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard, not nearer the hole.

Ball in Bushes
If you hit a ball deep into bushes and don’t think you can get out, you have to take a penalty of one shot and one of these options

– drop within two club lengths of where the ball lay (not from the edge of the bushes)
– go back as far as you like on a line from the pin and through the ball’s position, if this gets you clear
– go back and replay the shot

Movable Obstruction
That man Martin again. On the ninth his ball ended up on the slope into the bunker, but held up by the rake. Moving the rake made the ball move, and the slope was so steep the ball kept rolling away when placed.

A player may take relief without penalty from a movable obstruction (Rule 24-1).

If the ball does not lie in or on the obstruction, the obstruction may be removed. If the ball moves it must be replaced .  If it fails to come to rest on the spot on which it was replaced (Rule 20-3 d) there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced again. If it still fails to come to rest it must be placed on the nearest spot where it can be placed at rest, not nearer the hole.

Rules for Ball in Hazard
If your ball is in a hazard you must not

–  test the condition of the hazard
–  touch the ground (same as rule for bunkers) with your club or hand
–  during a swing, touch or move a loose impediment on the ground

Ball on Wrong Green
Prompted by seeing Pete The Long Backswing hit ball from 8th tee onto 7th green. What happens next?

“If a player’s ball lies on a wrong putting green, he must take relief, without penalty, as follows:

The player must lift the ball and drop it within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green. When dropping the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the wrong putting green and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green. The ball may be cleaned when lifted under this Rule.”

Ball on Out of Bounds Line
Our man Mike hooked his drive on 13 and ended up touching the out of bounds line. In bounds or not?

“Out of bounds” is beyond the boundaries of the course or any part of the course so marked by the Committee.

When out of bounds is defined by reference to stakes or a fence or as being beyond stakes or a fence, the out of bounds line is determined by the nearest inside points of the stakes or fence posts at ground level excluding angled supports.

Objects defining out of bounds such as walls, fences, stakes and railings, are not obstructions and are deemed to be fixed.

When out of bounds is defined by a line on the ground, the line itself is out of bounds.

Ball Hits Equipment etc
19-2. Ball Deflected By Player, Partner, Caddie or Equipment
If a player’s ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by himself, his partner or either of their caddies or equipment, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke.

The ball must be played as it lies, except when it comes to rest in or on the player’s, his partner’s or either of their caddies’ clothes or equipment, in which case the ball must through the green or in a hazard be dropped, or on the putting green be placed, as near as possible to the spot directly under the place where the ball came to rest in or on the article, but not nearer the hole.

Ball in Animal Scrape in Bunker
Free Relief (except in a water hazard) where you have interference from an abnormal ground condition (i.e. casual water, ground under repair or a hole or cast made by a burrowing animal, etc.), you may drop within one club-length of the nearest point of relief not nearer the hole. If the ball is on the putting green, it is placed at the nearest point of relief. There is no relief for intervention on your line of play unless your ball and the abnormal ground condition are on the putting green.

If your ball is in a bunker and you cannot take complete relief, you may drop the ball at the nearest position in the bunker not nearer the hole that gives maximum available relief. Also, when the ball is in a bunker, the player may take relief behind the bunker under penalty of one stroke.

16 Responses to Incidents with Rules

  1. mobsex.mobi says:

    You ought to take ρart in a contest for one
    оf the Ƅest websites onn the web. I amm gߋing to highly recommend thіs site!

  2. My partner and I stumbled over here different website and thought
    I might check things out. I like what I see so
    now i am following you. Look forward to looking at your web
    page repeatedly.

  3. This is my first time visit at here and i am really impressed to read everthing
    at one place.

  4. Just wish to say your article is as amazing.
    The clearness to your post is just spectacular and i could think you’re an expert on this subject.
    Fine along with your permission let me to grab your feed to stay up to date with coming near near post.
    Thank you one million and please continue the gratifying
    work.

  5. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing
    around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to
    your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  6. What’s up to every , as I am actually keen of reading this webpage’s post to be updated regularly.
    It includes nice data.

  7. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you
    can do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is magnificent blog.
    An excellent read. I will definitely be back.

  8. I do believe all of the concepts you’ve presented for your post.

    They are really convincing and will certainly work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are very quick for beginners. Could you please extend
    them a bit from next time? Thank you for the post.

  9. Link exchange is nothing else except it is simply placing the other person’s
    blog link on your page at proper place and other person will also do same for
    you.

  10. Wow, that’s what I was seeking for, what a stuff! present here at this website, thanks admin of this website.

  11. Someone necessarily help to make significantly articles I’d state.
    That is the first time I frequented your web page and so far?

    I surprised with the analysis you made to create this
    actual put up amazing. Magnificent activity!

  12. Julissa says:

    Exceptional post but I was wanting to know if you could write a litte
    more on this subject? I’d be very thankful if
    you could elaborate a little bit further.

    Appreciate it!

  13. Nice blog here! Also your website loads up fast! What
    web host are you using? Can I get your affiliate link to your
    host? I wish my website loaded up as quickly
    as yours lol

  14. I love looking through an article that can make people think.
    Also, thanks for allowing for me to comment!

Today's latest from Refosnews. Do add your comments so I know you're out there and listening. Being the blogger can be a bit lonely.