Rules Spotlight – Bunkers

(Ed : Preface added, in view of comment WTF I’m on about from The Man Of Diminished Stature. Just that this happened on the beach at the 9th and nobody knew what to do …)

Just checking what happens if you’re in an animal scrape in a bunker. Relief allowed as here …..

Free Relief (except in a water hazard) where you have interference from an abnormal ground condition (i.e. casual water, ground under repair or a hole or cast made by a burrowing animal, etc.), you may drop within one club-length of the nearest point of relief not nearer the hole. If the ball is on the putting green, it is placed at the nearest point of relief. There is no relief for intervention on your line of play unless your ball and the abnormal ground condition are on the putting green.

If your ball is in a bunker and you cannot take complete relief, you may drop the ball at the nearest position in the bunker not nearer the hole that gives maximum available relief. Also, when the ball is in a bunker, the player may take relief behind the bunker under penalty of one stroke.

This entry was posted in Refos Golf News. Bookmark the permalink.

Come on you lot, tell me what you think!